Bali Soup

This soup is nice and spicy with chili and lots of lovely herbs and spices. The perfect winter-y soup. From a danish cookbook called “Sundt men Godt” by Dorte Asbjørn.

Ingredients:

3 stalks leeks (300g)

380g carrots

1 small red bell pepper (100g)

1 small red chili pepper

300g chicken (breasts, no skin)

2 tsp ginger, ground

1 heaping tsp paprika, ground

1 tsp turmeric

100 ml coconut milk light

1 liter water + 1 chicken bouillon cube

Cut up all the vegetables and chili. I sliced the leeks and carrots, cut the bell pepper in stalks and finely chopped the chili pepper.

In a large pan sauté leeks, carrots, bell pepper and chili for a short amount of time. They should not be browned.

Add the chicken and sauté for a little while longer until the chicken turns white. Again it should not fry so long that it browns.

Finally add spices and chicken stock water and let boil.

Turn down the heat and let it simmer for about 5 minutes then season with salt and pepper.

Garnish with fresh coriander when serving. Enjoy!

Makes 4 servings, at 207 kcal.

TIP:

I haven’t tried it yet but I’ve been thinking about serving the soup on top of  bulgur, barley or whole grain rice for more fiber. Also cooking adding cooked chickpeas when soup is simmering might be nice and will add some more protein. Cooking the soup with chickpeas instead of chicken will make this a nice vegetarian dish.

The next time I will try to add less chicken since I thought it was too dominating, but then again I’m not a big fan of meats so maybe it will be fine for you.

2 thoughts on “Bali Soup

  1. Just a quickie to say thanks for stopping by smarterfitter daily – really appreciate the comment. Had no idea people even read the thing. I’m going to start describing my meals (in words!) again – thanks to you.🙂

    • You are so welcome! I’m literally want to make ever single dish to post. Your blog has become such an inspiration to me food-wise, and I’m so glad that I stumbled upon it.
      And it’s so nice to have describtions again aha I really missed those! ;D

Leave a Reply

