Oatmeal Cookies (Low Fat, Sugar-Free)

I adapted this recipe to make it a bit healthier, cutting out both butter and sugar. These yummy cookies a filled with fibers and it won’t make your blood sugar levels go crazy..

Ingredients:

50g oats

50g wheat bran (or a gluten free type of flour)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

215g unsweetened apple sauce

no-calorie sweetener equal to 200g sugar (I use 3 1/2 tsp liquid sweetener)

1 tsp vanilla extract

45g egg whites

1 (100g) ripe banana

optional add-ins:

“Chocolate Chip” Cookies: 3 tsp (20g) raw cocoa nibs or

“Trail Mix” Cookies: 1 tsp (6g) pumpkin seeds + 1 tsp (20g) almonds, finely chopped and  1 tsp (15g) raisins

In a bowl combine the flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Whisk together (or sift together). Mix apple sauce, sweetener and vanilla extract together. Add egg whites and beat until just combined. Now add in the flour mixture and beat until dough forms. Use a spoon to mix in 1/2 mashed banana plus any add-ins of your choice.
Spoon batter onto a prepared baking sheet. Top with a slice of banana from your remaining banana. Bake at 175 C for about 20 minutes.
Makes 10 cookies, “Trail Mix”: 70 kcal each, “Chocolate Chip”: 56 kcal each.
^^”Chocolate Chip” Oatmeal Cookies
^^”Trail Mix” Oatmeal Cookies
^^”Chocolate Chip” Oatmeal Cookies

10 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cookies (Low Fat, Sugar-Free)

    • Thanks!😉
      And yes, I know.. I was actually aware of it, but I convinced myself that I was counting calories for the sake of “my readers” and not because I felt more safe that way; but that’s not true, so thanks for reminding me!

    • Hi, wow thanks so much for caring about me🙂 I’m fine – good actually. I’m just in recovery for my ED in a treatment center, hint the not blogging, since there aren’t really any opportunities for me to blog about new recipes…🙂 I couldn’t quite handle recovering on my own, so yeah… How are you doing by the way??

      • hi what are some other good healthy low sugar&fat recipes you know of? i too struggle from an ED and would love to find recipes that wont make me feel guilty afterwards.
        Thanks🙂

      • Hi! First of all I apologize for taking so long to write you back!
        But to answer your question: most of my recipes are low-cal and all of them are sugar-free so feel free to browse through my blog🙂 I’m trying to post more frequently so stay tuned also for more recipes. Otherwise, check out my blogroll for blogs i’m inspired by; suffering from an ED, I know how guilty you can feel even from eating the smallest amount if food, so I hope my recipes you help you like they have helped me – I wish you the best of luck trying to overcome this horrible disease, I know you can find the strenght to fight against this monster!

Leave a Reply

